Marriage Witness Requirements

 

When it comes to marriage, a witness or two is usually required, but all this depends on the state as some states require the witnesses to be 16 years and older to be able to testify the marriage ceremony was performed and be able to include a date as well as a place. Photo identification is also required for each witness.

Each state has different marriage witness requirements, and they are as follows.

States And Their Marriage Witness Requirement In Accord

Alaska:

The law in Alaska stares that a wedding ceremony must be witnessed by a minimum of two people.

Arizona:

The Arizonan law states that the license is required to be signed by both couples and also have a presence of two witnesses who should be above the age of 18. The officiating minister is also expected to be present.

Arkansas:

The law in Arkansas does not require any witness present.

California:

The law in California states that the marriage license should be signed a minimum of one witness, but a maximum of two and only one signature per line is required.

Colorado:

The law doesn’t require a witness through a judge or clergy could request for one.

Connecticut:

 The law in Connecticut does not require a witness.

Delaware:

A  number of two witnesses are required who should be 18 years and above.

District of Columbia:

No witness is required for a wedding ceremony.

Florida:

Not witness is required by law.

Georgia:

Two witnesses are required only if the form isn’t completed by the officiating party.

Hawaii:

No witness is required by the Hawaiian Law.

Idaho:

No witnesses are required by the Idaho law.

Illinois:

No witnesses are required by the Illinois law.

Indiana:

No witnesses are required by the Indiana law.

Iowa:

The requirements of a witness who is over the age of 18. There must be proof, such as a photo ID.

Kansas:

There should be at least tell witnesses to be present in a marriage ceremony who should be 18 years and over.

Kentucky:

Two witnesses are required.

Louisiana:

The Louisiana law requires a total of two witnesses to be able to sign the marriage license.

Maine:

The law in main requires two witnesses other than the officiant and couples.

Maryland:

No witnesses are required by the Maryland law.

Massachusetts:

No witnesses are required by the Massachusetts law.

Michigan:

A total of two witnesses above the age of 18 are required.

Minnesota:

Two witnesses who are at least 16 years of age.

Mississippi:

No witnesses are required by the Mississippi law.

Missouri:

No witnesses are required by the Missouri law.

Montana:

No witnesses are required in by the Montana law.

Nebraska:

A total of two witnesses are required to be present at the ceremony.

Nevada:

One witness is required excluding the officiant

New Hampshire:

No witness is required.

New Jersey:

One witness is required and should be 18 years and above.

New Mexico:

A total of two witnesses to sign the marriage license is required.

New York:

One witness is required and shouldn’t be less than 18 years old.

North Carolina:

A total of two witnesses are required for all marriage ceremonies.

North Dakota:

Two witnesses are required to sign on the marriage license.

Ohio:

No witness is required by the Ohio law.

Oklahoma:

Two witnesses are required for signing on the marriage license.

Oregon:

Two witnesses who are no less than 18 are required at the wedding ceremony.

Pennsylvania:

No witness is required by the Pennsylvania law.

Rhode Island:

Two witnesses are required to be present at the wedding ceremony, and they must be over the age of 18.

South Carolina:

Not witnesses are required by the South Carolina law.

South Dakota:

One witness is required for a marriage ceremony.

Tennessee:

There is a space for witnesses on the marriage license, but marriages are recognized without one.

Texas:

No witnesses are required by the Texas law.

Utah:

Two witnesses who are over the age of 18 must be present at any wedding ceremony.

Vermont:

No witnesses are required by the Vermont law

Virginia:

No witnesses are required by the Virginia law.

Washington:

Two witnesses are required to sign the marriage license.

West Virginia:

No witnesses required by the West Virginia law.

Wisconsin:

There should be a total of two adults at the wedding ceremony.

Wyoming:

Two witnesses are required to be present at the marriage ceremony.